Interest high in board seats

When nominations closed for the Waipā District Council local elections at midday on Friday, the fears there would not be enough candidates for a genuine election dissipated immediately.

A flurry of people had come forward.

A feature of the upcoming campaign is the interest in the district’s two community boards suggesting the council’s work in recent times to strengthen their profile has paid dividends.

Ten people put their names forward for four seats on the Cambridge Community Board and three for the one Maungatautari seat.

Eight candidates vie for four seats on the Te Awamutu-Kihikihi Community Board while Kakepuku’s Kane Titchener can take it easy during the campaign – he was the sole nominee for the one rural seat on the board.

The new Waipā Māori ward on council has three candidates while the race for the mayoralty has a distinctly district-wide slant to it with two from Te Awamutu, one from Cambridge and the other midway between in the district’s rural heartland.

Two newcomers will go up against incumbents for council’s four Cambridge ward seats while a last-minute nomination from a current community board member means there is a race of two for the vacant Maungatautari ward seat on council.

Three incumbents will front up against three veteran campaigners for the council’s Te Awamutu-Kihikihi ward while the new Pirongia-Kakepuku ward features a newcomer against two long-standing councillors for the two seats.

The Waipā nominees are:


Jim Mylchreest (Te Awamutu), Susan O’Regan (Roto-o-Rangi), Bernard Westerbaan (Te Awamutu), Chris Woodhams (Cambridge).

The list of people standing for council with the number of available seats is:

Pirongia-Kakepuku x 2:

Clare St Pierre, Corilin Steel, Bruce Thomas.

Cambridge x 4:

Philip Coles, Roger Gordon, Mike Pettit, Don Sanders, Delwyn Smith, Liz Stolwyk.

Maungatautari x 1:

Les Bennett, Mike Montgomerie.

Te Awamutu-Kihikihi x 3:

Andrew Brown, Lou Brown, Bernie Fynn, Marcus Gower, James Parlane, Bernard Westerbaan.

Waipā Māori x 1:

Bill Harris, Gaylene Roberts, Takena Stirling.

Community Boards

Cambridge x 4:

Elise Badger, Krystie Brickland, Jo Davies-Colley, Alana MacKay, Sue Milner, Selina Oliver, David Slone, Delwyn Smith, Michah Webb, Cherie Weinberg.

Maungatautari x 1:

Les Bennett, Andrew Myers, Ruth Nicholls.

Te Awamutu-Kihikihi x 4:

Georgina Christie, Norris Hall, Ange Holt, James Parlane, Jill Taylor, Bernard Westerbaan, Sally Whitaker, John Wood.

Kakepuku x 1:

Kane Titchener* (elected unopposed).






More Recent News

Neighbourhood playground opens

Te Awamutu’s newest playground at Swarbrick Park will open tomorrow (Tuesday). Construction began on the $370,000 neighbourhood playground, located in Swarbrick Park along Swarbrick Drive, in October 2022. The play space addresses some of the…

Info centre time extended

The Te Awamutu i-Site will continue as it is for another year while Waipā District Council reviews how future funding looks. Te Awamutu Community Public Relations Organisation and Destination Cambridge are incorporated societies which run…

Focus on council attendance

Takena Stirling’s resignation from Waipā District Council has sparked media stories about his attendance at meetings. Read: Councillor resigns Stirling missed seven of 11 meetings since December  – two of which were to represent the…

Waipā: June election

It’s a yes from one, and “I’m thinking about it” from the other. The two Waipā Māori ward candidates who finished behind the now resigned councillor Takena Stirling last year could both be contenders again…